Kids Library Home

Welcome to the Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

     
Available items only
Book Cover
Book
Author Levesque, Emily, author.

Title The last stargazers : the enduring story of astronomy's vanishing explorers / Emily Levesque.

Copies

1 copy ordered for Main Level New Nonfiction on 08-10-2020.
Description xvi, 313 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references (pages 293-295) and index.
Contents First light -- Prime focus -- Has anybody seen the condors? -- Hours lost : six. Reason : volcano -- The harm from the bullets was extraordinarily small -- A mountain of one's own -- Hayrides and hurricanes -- Flying with the stratonauts -- Three secondsin Argentina -- Test mass -- Target of opportunity -- The supernova in your inbox -- Synoptic future.
Summary "For readers of Labgirl and Neil DeGrasse Tyson, The Last Stargazers combines the exciting travels of award-winning astronomer Emily Levesque with the misunderstood antics of a scrappy (and shrinking) crew of scientists working with stars and telescopes.She dissects both the romance and the real human curiosity that is so important to our exploration of space. Amidst the lonely quiet of stargazing to wild bears loose in the observatory, these love stories of astronomy show how scientists are going beyondthe machines to infuse important creativity and intimate passion into the stars, inspiring future generations to peer skyward in pursuit of the universe's secrets"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject Levesque, Emily.
Astronomy -- Popular works.
Astronomers -- Popular works.
Astronomical observatories -- Popular works.
ISBN 9781492681076 : HRD 25.99
1492681075 : HRD 25.99 (hardcover)

 
    
Available items only